CONFIRMED: Arsenal Europa League Squad Announced

Arsenal have announced their UEFA Europa League group stage squad (A list) and it is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno, Rúnar Alex Rúnarsson, Matt Macey, James Hillson, Dejan Iliev.

Defenders: Héctor Bellerín, Gabriel Magalhães, Rob Holding, Cédric Soares, Shkodran Mustafi, Calum Chambers, Pablo Marí, David Luiz, Sead Kolašinac, Kieran Tierney.

Midfielders: Dani Ceballos, Willian, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Thomas Partey, Mohamed Elneny, Granit Xhaka.

Forwards: Alexandre Lacazette, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Nicolas Pépé.

Arsenal’s B-list for the Europa League group stages can feature players U21 & that have been at the club for two or more years – Bukayo Saka, Reiss Nelson, Eddie Nketiah, Emile Smith Rowe, Folarin Balogun, Miguel Azeez & others are expected to be named in this squad.

The players that are left out of the group stages are William Saliba who is expected to go out on loan still. Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Gabriel Martinelli (injured) and Mesut Özil.

You may be wondering why the club have chose to pick five keepers over the likes of Özil, it is to fulfil the homegrown quota. The rule is 17 non-home grown players in a 25 man squad. The gunners could only name seven home grown so the squad list is only 24 players.

Leave a Reply